“Kitchen” Disaster

A camping trip gone wrong.  Our mutual friend invited us to a trip her brother planned to impress his current girlfriend.  However, he had no camping, cooking, or any real experience providing for himself, especially not four other people, so my friend and I agreed to help.  As the sun was setting my friend and I started cooking.  With insufficient lighting, tools, and ingredients we were struggling to make something edible for dinner after hiking around the area most the day.

The brother planned to make some thick hamburgers with an egg, fresh lettuce and tomato, and all the condiments.  But the eggs got dropped between his thirty-step journey from his trunk to our campsite.  He also came back telling us that he didn’t see the condiments, and that the vegetables were pummeled in the bag.  Fortunately, we still had the core ingredients, buns, also deformed, and hamburgers patties.  I put two patties on the pan, while my friend lit the lamp, I noticed the slight wind and went to get my jacket.  It had been a few minutes, so I went to flip the first burger.  The burger stuck to the pan as if someone stuck gum to the bottom of it.  A crowbar would’ve been more useful than my spatula.  I got it free, but left a quarter of the burger behind.  I flipped it again, more hopeful and minutes later had a similar experience.  I put the burger together, looking at all the slightly damaged components we thought even a McDonald’s burger was extraordinary in comparison.

3 thoughts on ““Kitchen” Disaster

  1. Michael – This sounds like very memorable trip! I enjoyed the way you set up the story in a brief paragraph then got into the meal. You did a great job of putting enough detail in the right places. I hope that next time you go camping its with better company and better burgers. 🙂

    -Laughlin Silvestri

    Like

  2. I could really feel the struggle of the meal while reading this. It truly does sound like a disaster. I like how your story has 2 layers because it makes it more interesting. Good work!

    Like

Leave a comment